Linked-in Poetic Self Portrait

Standard

I am from films,
pepperidge farms and apples
I am from the tree in the middle of the driveway (tall and powerful with the wet sweet scent of oak)
I am from the mint, the rain storm
whose showers still invoke nostalgia
of a time when I danced in them with my sister

I am from the cinnamon roll Christmas tree and blue eyes
from Brennah, Danica, and Brett

I am from over achievers
and some-what believers,
from go to college and do what you love

I am from the reformation
here stand I
I cannot differ

I am from a mutt of the rightful owners and the men who took his land
Cajun turkey and pecan pie
from the time my twin sister ran head first into a mirror thinking it was me
and the fact that that was not the only time
my father’s mustache that has kept his upper lip a mystery

Upon my bookshelves stand the pages of my life
And the lives that came before
Pictures and letters, musings and scraps
Living past and present, awaiting the future

I am from shared DNA
stubborn to defy nature
to not have myself pre-defined by strands
but still molded by God’s hands

About adorableangst

I am from apples, from pepperidge farms and vanilla I am from my Grandmother's paintings that hang on the walls I am from the cut grass, the sunflower I am from the disgusting cinnamon roll Christmas tree From Brennah, Jami and Gary I am from the bad jokes and "go fish", from "go to college" and "always forgive" I'm from "here I stand I cannot differ" I'm from Germany, cajun fried turkey and gumbo From the time my twin sister ran into the mirror thinking it was me and the the fact that that was not the first time. I am from the shelves and shelves of scrapbooks and memories in my living room (and more recently facebook), who's contents are untouched by time...and won't be

One response »

  1. I really like the way you linked verbs “differ” and “defy”–amazing decision that really got me thinking about what those words could have mean and how you lead me down a different path than I expected. Fun experiment.

Leave a Reply

