Come with Me and You’ll be in a World of Pure Imagination…(visual rhetoric)

Standard

I can think back to being a senior in High School and seriously looking a schools for the first time.  I was going to so many websites and they honestly made me feel like Charlie in the Chocolate Factory!  It seemed like everything was possible.  It was my doorway into what my future could be!  Everywhere I looked I saw pictures of happy smiling people, people having fun, people enjoying school!  As charlie, this is what I saw:

Charlie when he first comes into the factory all he sees is beautiful candy lanes, a chocolate waterfall and fantastical little orange men called chumba-wumbas!  When I first walked around on my college campus all I saw were sidewalks full of freedom, a magical dorm room full of friends, and a wonderful rainbow of people called students!  I was so full of wonder of this new world called college but pretty soon…someone got caught in the chocolate tube.  My vision of perfection was shattered and I saw OCU for what it really is.

But you know what…it worked!  I liked what I saw on the website and it got me to the school!  I saw those happy smiling faces on the homepage and it made me want to click around and find out more!  When I liked what I saw it really made me want to go to OCU.  I’m sure that this is true for AUM as well.  Their homepage shows happy studious pictures of their students and faculty!  Plus kudos for the “warhawk” profile!  It gives a realistic view of what AUM as a university is about and the kind of students who attend their school.

In constrast I found Standford to be very basic and in a sense plain.  It was not so flashy as OCU and AUM.  When I asked my friend who actually goes to Standford about why he thought that may be he told me that when he was looking at the school he never looked to the website to help him make a decision.  Because Standford is just Standford they really don’t need a website to market themselves.

However, back to OCU, I in the end I am in LOVE with my school!  So even though OCU isn’t EXACTLY like the website portrays it to be, I have come to find that it is so much more!  And at the end of the day I get to ride the elevator.

About adorableangst

I am from apples, from pepperidge farms and vanilla I am from my Grandmother's paintings that hang on the walls I am from the cut grass, the sunflower I am from the disgusting cinnamon roll Christmas tree From Brennah, Jami and Gary I am from the bad jokes and "go fish", from "go to college" and "always forgive" I'm from "here I stand I cannot differ" I'm from Germany, cajun fried turkey and gumbo From the time my twin sister ran into the mirror thinking it was me and the the fact that that was not the first time. I am from the shelves and shelves of scrapbooks and memories in my living room (and more recently facebook), who's contents are untouched by time...and won't be

5 responses »

  1. I found this posting to be very clever. There is a special sense of excitement and awe when taking those first big steps of transition into your future and I thought you did a great job of expressing that feeling and experiance through the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory metaphor. Often times the initial excitement fades away when someone is sucked into a chocolate tube… sometimes the person being sucked up is our own selves. In the end though, the hope is that we all get to ride in the glass elevator. I’m so glad that OCU’s website was able to pull you in with it’s visual rhetoric and that you are now able to take that ride!

  2. You’re completely right. It’s thrilling to see all the laughter, smiles, and- Oh my gosh, is that frisbee??
    as it flashs at you from ever page. And true, OCU isn’t identical to it’s profile (honestly, whom is EVER in the Warrior Garden?) it is still populated with inciteful individuals (such as yourself) who make the campus what it is, a great and entertaining place to live.

Leave a Reply

