Mi casa es su casa

Standard

Image

Stomping Grounds

What more is there to Oklahoma?  Once you’ve seen the bombing memorial you’ve seen it all right?  Wrong.  Though don’t get me wrong, the bombing is a crucial part of our history, even more specifically mine, but this tragedy is not the only thing to shape Oklahoma into what it is today.

I cannot begin to express how refreshing it was to meet student scholars with open minds, and the patience to listen to me ramble. I could go on about the information shared between everyone about Alabama and Oklahoma, but what meant the most to me was creating friendships and getting to experience my old stomping grounds with others.  We spun and climbed on the playground at the Myriad gardens, chowed down on frozen yogurt at Peachwave, and topped it off by experiencing the giant bronze statues that commemorate the land run.  My favorite though, had to be our Peachwave trip.  There we shared delicious frozen treats and I learned about everyone.  It was a very meaningful experience and I honestly wouldn’t go back and change a thing.

But there is one small thing I would change about the class as a whole.  Something I learned from my experience is that one singular class and optional lunch is by far not enough time to get to know a group of people.  True we have been following each other’s blogs all year but all that made me want to do was to get to know the AUM students better.  I wished that my other classmates would’ve done an interactive map as well. The extra time devoted to getting to know the other students was just so phenomenal and I feel like many missed out. 

But in all, I regret nothing!  I came, I saw, I cultivated friendships!  Now just time to make it facebook official.

 

-Devin

About adorableangst

I am from apples, from pepperidge farms and vanilla I am from my Grandmother's paintings that hang on the walls I am from the cut grass, the sunflower I am from the disgusting cinnamon roll Christmas tree From Brennah, Jami and Gary I am from the bad jokes and "go fish", from "go to college" and "always forgive" I'm from "here I stand I cannot differ" I'm from Germany, cajun fried turkey and gumbo From the time my twin sister ran into the mirror thinking it was me and the the fact that that was not the first time. I am from the shelves and shelves of scrapbooks and memories in my living room (and more recently facebook), who's contents are untouched by time...and won't be

One response »

Leave a Reply

